February 9, 2016

Post Licensing


As a newly licensed North Carolina Real Estate Broker, your license will be held in “Provisional Status” until you complete an additional 90 hours of education within three years of obtaining your North Carolina real estate Broker License. The Broker Post-licensing Courses each consist of 30 hours of instruction and these courses may be taken in any sequence.

Coastal Real Estate School offers post licensing classes in Wilmington, and Holden Beach, North Carolina. You can check upcoming courses by clicking the button below.

Sign-Up Today!

Purpose of the Real Estate Post Licensing Courses:

The primary objective of Post licensing Education Program is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in the Real Estate Broker Prelicensing Course on topics deemed to be of special importance to licensees.

Per Commission Rule 58A .1902: Provisional Brokers must complete, within three (3) years following initial licensure “a post licensing education program consisting of ninety (90) hours of classroom instruction in subjects determined by the Commission” [G.S.93A-4(a)1]. The program consists of three 30-hour courses, at least one of which must be completed in each of the first three (3) years following initial licensure in order to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage.

The 90-hour Postlicensing Education Program consists of three 30-hour courses prescribed by the Commission which may be taken in any sequence. However, the Commission recommends the following course number sequence (301, 302, & 303), as course materials were developed with that sequence in mind. When a provisional broker has timely completed all three (3) courses, the provisional status of the broker’s license will be automatically terminated by the Commission.

Post Licensing Class Descriptions:

Post 301 – Brokerage Relationships and Responsibilities

Topics addressed in this course include a review of agency relationships in real estate sales transactions and a real estate agent’s legal duties to clients and customers, a step-by-step review and discussion of the functions and responsibilities of a real estate agent when working with residential sellers and buyers, a review of issues associated with transactions in progress when an agent leaves a firm, and a review of license status and education issues.

Post 302 – Contracts and Closing

Topics addressed in this course include selected basic contract law concepts, real estate sales contract preparation, sales contract procedures, buyer’s due diligence, closing procedures, Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, closing disclosures preparation, contracts for deed, options, and real estate license status and education issues.

Post 303 – NC Law, Rules & Legal Concepts

Topics addressed in this course include commercial real estate brokerage, residential property management, land use controls, loan fraud, brokerage compensation issues, license law issues and case studies, selected fair housing issues and case studies, establishing a brokerage firm, manufactured and modular homes and issues relating to short sales.

Course Enrollment Requirements:

Per Commission Rule 58H .0209: A school shall not enroll an individual in a Postlicensing course if the first day of the Postlicensing course occurs while the individual is enrolled in a Prelicensing course or if that individual has not passed the license examination.

Per Commission Rule 58A .1904, a provisional broker is subject to withdrawal or denial of Postlicensing education credit by the Real Estate Commission if s/he enrolls concurrently in Postlicensing courses (at the same or different schools) that result in the provisional broker being in class for more than 30 classroom hours in any given seven-day period.

Broker Postlicensing Courses: $185.00 per 30-hour course. Required NC Real Estate Manual is not included in Broker Postlicensing Course Tuition.

NOTE: Each student is required to use the current edition of the NC Real Estate Manual in each Broker Postlicensing Course. The printed version of the textbook may be purchased directly from the School. The printed, online, or CD-ROM version may be purchased from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission (www.ncrec.gov).

Coastal Real Estate School does not allow students to use the online and CD-ROM versions of the NC Real Estate Manual during classes. Each student must bring his/her copy of the NC Real Estate Manual to every Postlicensing class session