July 21, 2017

School Policies

Purpose of School

Coastal Real Estate School conducts the Broker Prelicensing Course required to qualify for the license examination to become licensed as a real estate provisional broker in North Carolina and the Postlicensing Education Program needed for a provisional broker to remove the provisional status of such license.

School Licensure

Coastal Real Estate School is licensed by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.

Any complaints concerning the School should be directed in writing to:

North Carolina Real Estate Commission

ATTN: Education & Licensing Division

P.O. Box 17100

Raleigh, NC 27619

Per Commission Rule 58H .0205: the School must provide each Prelicensing and Postlicensing course student with a copy of this School Bulletin prior to payment of any non-refundable tuition or fee. The Bulletin, which is required and approved by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission, outlines School policies plus the rights and obligations of the School and the student. A signed certification that a student received a copy of the Bulletin must be retained by the School.

No student shall be denied admission on the basis of age, sex, race, color, Familial status, national origin, handicap status, or religion.

Registration & Enrollment

Procedure for Requesting Special Accommodations

To accommodate students with disability, it is required that written documentation from a certified care giver be submitted at least two weeks prior to the commencement of the requested class.  Coastal Real Estate School complies with the American Disabilities Act and strives to ensure that no individual with a disability as defined by the ADA is deprived the opportunity to participate in a course.

Detailed Schedule of Tuition and Fees

Coastal Real Estate School accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Cash, Check or PayPal. Tuition must be received upon entry of the first day of class.  The penalty for a check returned for non-sufficient funds will be $50.

Tuition Schedule:

Broker Prelicensing Course is $400.00, textbook is included.

Broker Postlicensing Courses: $185.00 per 30-hour course. Required NC Real Estate Manual is not included in Broker Postlicensing Course Tuition.

NOTE: Each student is required to use the current edition of the NC Real Estate Manual in each Broker Postlicensing Course. The printed version of the textbook may be purchased directly from the School. The printed, online, or CD-ROM version may be purchased from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission (www.ncrec.gov).

Coastal Real Estate School does not allow students to use the online and CD-ROM versions of the NC Real Estate Manual during classes. Each student must bring his/her copy of the NC Real Estate Manual to every Postlicensing class session.

Course Cancellation or Rescheduling / Refunds

Coastal Real Estate School reserves the right to postpone the start of a scheduled course for up to two weeks. Should a course be postponed for a longer period, should class days/times be changed, or should a course be cancelled by SCHOOL, STUDENT shall be entitled to a full refund of all tuition paid for the course in question. Should the dates for a postponed course conflict with the dates specified in this contract for a subsequent course for which STUDENT has also registered, STUDENT shall be entitled to full refund of all tuition paid for the subsequent course.

Withdrawals and Transfers / Refunds

Refund Policy: Students who withdraw from enrollment more than 3 business days before the first class will receive a full refund. There is a $50 cancellation fee if a student withdraws less than 3 business days before the first class. This $50 may be credited as partial payment for the next course offered within 6 months. There are no refunds after the first class commences regardless of registration date. Once a session has started, a student may not transfer to another session or attend other session’s class times.

Rescheduling and Cancellations: Classes canceled due to inclement weather or other emergencies will be rescheduled. If a course is canceled, the student’s tuition will be fully refunded.

Student Progress and Grades

Student Conduct

Students are expected to conduct themselves in a professional manner. Dismissal without recourse will be imposed for behavior that, in the sole judgment of instructor or staff, reflects negatively on Coastal Real Estate School. Students are expected to come to each class on time with a calculator, writing materials and a mindset ready to learn. “Electronic devices (e.g., phones, laptops, tablets, etc.)” are not permitted during class time. Students in violation will receive a warning and if the violation persists, the student will be dismissed from that class. Only enrolled students are permitted in the classroom while class is in session.

Attendance

Broker Prelicensing Course students must attend a minimum of 80% of all scheduled classroom hours.  Postlicensing Education Program students must attend a minimum of 90% of all scheduled classroom hours. An end-of-course exam will not be administered to any student who does not satisfy the course attendance requirement.

Attendance will be closely monitored, including late arrivals and early departures at the beginning or end of every class session or any scheduled break times. All class time missed will be recorded for each student.

Eligibility Requirements for Course Completion Certificate

To pass the Broker Prelicensing Course and receive a course completion certificate, a student must a) meet the attendance requirements, b) timely submit completed in-class and take-home assignments, and c) pass the end-of-course exam with a minimum score of 75%.

To pass a Postlicensing Course and receive a course completion certificate, a student must a) meet attendance requirements, b) timely submit completed in-class and take-home assignments, and c) pass the end-of-course exam with a minimum score of 75%.

The end-of-course exam will be administered on the last scheduled day of the course.

Students are not permitted to bring laptops, tablets, cell phones or similar electronic devices (other than a basic calculator) to the classroom on the day of an exam. Any student who brings such a device to the classroom on the day of an exam will be required to remove it from the classroom before the exam commences. If a student is discovered to be using such a device or cheating in any other manner during an exam, the student will be immediately dismissed, will receive a failing grade, will not be eligible for any retake or makeup policies, and will be reported to the NC Real Estate Commission [per Commission Rule 58H .0210(h)].

End-of-course Exam Make-up and Re-take

Broker Prelicensing Course:

Coastal Real Estate School will allow a Broker Prelicensing Course student who does not take the end-of-course exam on the last scheduled day of a course to take it as a makeup one time within 14 days after the date of the first exam.

Coastal Real Estate School will allow a Broker Prelicensing Course student who takes but does not pass the end-of-course exam to retake the end-of-course exam one time; however all retakes must be within 14 days of the first exam. If the new results satisfy the course requirements, a certificate of completion will be issued.

Per Commission Rule 58H .0210(f): A Prelicensing or Postlicensing course student who does not pass the end-of-course exam within 30 days of the last scheduled day of the course must retake the entire course to be entitled to take the end-of-course exam again. All minimum requirements that applied to the original course, including attendance requirements, will apply to a retake of the course.

At Coastal Real Estate School a student may retake a Broker Prelicensing Course for $300.00, subject to the following conditions: the student already possesses the current Prelicening textbook.

Broker Postlicensing Education Courses:

A Postlicensing Education Program student who does not take the end-of-course exam on the last scheduled day of a course may take it as a makeup one time within 14 days after the date of the first exam.

A Postlicensing Education Program student who takes but does not pass the end-of-course exam may retake the end-of-course exam one time; however all retakes must be within 14 days after the date of the first exam.

Per Commission Rule 58H .0210(f): A Prelicensing or Postlicensing course student who does not pass the end-of-course exam within 30 days of the last scheduled day of the course must retake the entire course to be entitled to take the end-of-course exam again. All minimum requirements that applied to the original course, including attendance requirements, will apply to a retake of the course.

At Coastal Real Estate School a student may retake a Postlicensing Education Program course for $185.

 

Additional School Policies

Inclement Weather 

In the event of inclement weather or a local or national emergency, your Instructor or the Director will email notice of any class changes to the email address you provided to the school.

Course Schedules

Course schedules are published separately from this bulletin. Schedules are available at the School and upon request by phone, email, or U.S. mail. They are also posted on the School’s website www.coastalrealestateschoolnc.com .

Use of Technology in the Classroom

Coastal Real Estate School is not responsible for lost or stolen electronic devices.

Coastal Real Estate School does provide wireless Internet access.

Coastal Real Estate School does not allow the use of laptops, tablets, and similar devices in the classroom.

Visitors / Guests

Courses at Coastal Real Estate are open to enrolled students only.

Enrolled students may not bring visitors or guests to the classroom.